Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

going natural
November 3, 2002 10:59 p.m.

When you're colouring your hair darker, is your scalp supposed to burn?

Didn't think so.

Something came over me tonight. Maybe it was the excitement and pure astonishment, no, the pride I felt for actually reading the required American Literature I am supposed to have done by Tuesday. I took my Norton Anthology (damn you, Norton, whoever you are), sprawled across my bed and read for an hour. I no longer have any English reading to worry about until Wednesday (besides all of the readings I have to catch up on, but...anywho). I felt good! I felt productive! I saw the box of hair dye in our bathroom and thought, yes! Do it! Changing your hair is fun!

Okay it wasn't that simple really. I've been resisting any colouring of the hair whatsoever for almost 7 months now, as I'm trying to grow it out plus repair the damage already done. I decided to stop with the chemical dyes and just let it be for a while, and I did. My hair was somewhat two-toned but it did look fine, the difference between my natural colour (which is a dark blonde with a reddish cast to it) and the summer colour was a nice blend. But as I lose my tan in the winter, the summer blonde starts to look a little washed out. So I considered going back to my natural colour, as I did a year ago. I started thinking about how I got it professionally reversed last winter and as the hairdresser was doing it she kept murmuring, "so beautiful...such a beautiful colour...". And then I went out for lunch with my best friend yesterday and the first thing she said to me was how she was looking through L's photo album and came across a picture of me from two summers ago, when apparently my hair was darker and redder and she said I had to get my hair that colour again because it was the best colour she'd ever seen on me. And so it was a little bit of a domino effect, and a little bit of impulse. Now I'm sitting here with dye on my head, waiting for my doom. Goodbye golden blonde I love so dearly, we will see each other soon enough.

I'm really scared. I like being blonde, what am I doing! Okay, breathe. Why is this stinging? Stop it, stop it, stop it.

I'm supposed to be meeting a guy on Friday and going out somewhere with him and a couple of our friends, and I know he likes small blonde girls. Hahaha.




<< || >>