Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

keep your heart from freezing
May 17, 2002 9:33 p.m.

I'm in so much pain today. I think that I slept funny or something, because I woke up with more pain in my upper back and right shoulder/collarbone than usual. I've been taking Advil again but I've had this dull, chronic pain all day. Not a fan.

But nevertheless I was quite productive. I picked up my high school transcript I ordered, then went to the doctor, then the bank, then came home and cleaned up my room. I was talking to A on ICQ and she was complaining about her shift today then asked me if I wanted to take it, which I did after seeing that I had $60 in my account. So I got a 6 hour shift which was really cool, but I had less than an hour to get ready for it. I jumped into the shower, did my makeup and hair and everything really fast and was on my way at a normal time.

Totally forgot that it was the beginning of a long weekend, so traffic was brutal. I had to call my supervisor from my cell to tell her I was going to be a few minutes late, but I only had one minute left on my cell to call her with. She didn't know that, and started rambling on, "Oh Krista, there are some things I had to tell you - " and I cut her off and said, "Ahhh tell me when I get there my cell is gonna die - " and then it died. I don't know if she ever heard the "my cell is gonna die" part at all, it may have cut out before that. She had to leave to catch a ferry to the island for the weekend (like everyone else in this damn city). But I ended up only being 15 mins late, due to superb driving skills and knowledge of shortcuts.

So I tried to jog from the parking lot to the facility and in doing so I really hurt my collarbone, plus a can of Sprite fell out of my bag to the ground and then I kicked it, all in one fluid motion. I have no idea how I managed to do that but I looked like a total retard and people were staring at me. I picked it up and made a mental note to be careful when I opened it because it would probably explode everywhere.

After I'd reopened the store and done everything I was supposed to, the weirdest thing happened. This guy came in, tried on a pair of shorts, then came up the counter to buy them (that's not the weird part). I asked him if the size was okay and he said "Yeah...well they're kind of big but whatever" and I was like, "Well, you can try a medium and they'll fit better" like, duh. He kind of smiled and looked embarrased and said, "Oh...yeah, I could" and then went to try on the medium pair. He came out again a few minutes later and I asked him if they were better and he said they were, thanks. The thing is, there was something between us the entire time and it was totally indescribable. Every time we caught each others gaze it would remain there for a couple of seconds, and it was as if I couldn't take my eyes off of his. It literally felt as if time had completely stopped! He was so cute, and I could tell he thought I was cute too, because he'd look at me, and then look away, but he'd be smiling a little and looked sort of...I can't think of how to say it, like...sheepish, or embarrased...I swear he was blushing a little. It was so adorable and I just had this really amazing feeling about him. I just can't get over it, it was almost like I'd experienced a "love at first sight" kind of moment, where you don't know the other person at all but when you talk to them for those few seconds and look into their eyes you feel like you've known them forever and you're completely comfortable with them. I just rang through his purchase and he said softly, "Have a good day..." and I said, "You too" and he left.

Here's what makes it weird. This guy was old. I mean, not perverted old, but definitely the oldest guy I've ever felt attracted to before. It was sort of hard to guess his age, but I'd have guessed 27. He could have pulled off 30 though, even early 30's. He was a man. I know that sounds funny, but up until now I was convinced that I wasn't growing out of my high school mentality because I still thought 16-19 year old guys were cute. I hardly ever like guys that look older than 21 or 22, so this was very different. Now I can't stop thinking about this guy...it was definitely a moment.

I had made plans with three different groups of people for tonight and I ended up cancelling on everyone. I'm in so much pain, and really tired. I think I could use a good sleep tonight. I'm working again tomorrow morning, and I do want to go out tomorrow night, so I want to have enough energy to do that. I feel like such a homebody, but I think I have the right to be one.

Mom's all pissed because she didn't win the lottery for 34 million tonight. Apparently she had a better chance of being struck by lightning.


<< || >>