Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

a good weekend, I'd say...
March 31, 2002 12:05 a.m.

I had a great night last night. Went to a club I'd never been to before in Gastown called Shine, and it was an interesting experience. The music wasn't really my style, too much House/Techno for my liking, but the atmosphere was kind of cool. Competition was heavy, though. Now I understand why everyone always calls it the "white club" - there are more white people there than I've ever seen in one place at one time in Vancouver. I'm not trying to be racist, just pointing out the fact that there is a very large Asian population in Vancouver, and I'm used to being one of the few natural blondes wherever I go. It's usually something special, but in this place every girl was a Britney Spears look-alike and I found it rather daunting. However I could still hold my own, and when I was up dancing on the stage everyone was watching me and ignoring all of the Britney-boobs girls so, take that.

So anyway, the rest of the night - Jess, Anita and I were having a "co-workers night" that started with Shine - we had V.I.P. passes and then knew a guy who worked inside, so he gave us free shots of tequila and we were pretty good to go after that. We danced for a while to some weird hip-hop beats turned techno, then left to go to this really cute place called Jupiter's Cafe. It's right downtown and in Davie Village (a predominantly homosexual area of Vancouver - which happens to be one of my absolute favourite places). It's the greatest cafe ever, I love it to death - very dark and lit only by candles, big plush sofa seats, really good drinks, cool music. It's very trendy, very happening, lots of cute gay guys out together. So we had some martinis - real martinis, not the crap kind of crantini I get at Milestone's or Boston Pizza - got drunk, gushed about guys and other stuff, strolled around for a while outside to sober up a bit before heading home.

This may sound geeky but when I go downtown, my favourite parts of the entire night are the rides there and back. I just love the drive, especially in the Acura with some good music. Minutes after we'd started to drive home, a huge limo bus drove by with a bunch of guys hanging out the window screaming and stuff. We screamed back at them and we thought that was it, but it turned out they had told the limo driver to turn around. I noticed they were behind us, so we pulled over and stopped right on Howe Street and a bunch of them ran out to talk to us. It turned out they were having a bachelor party for one of the friends who was getting married the next day, and apparently he was already passed out in the back of the limo. I felt really bad for whoever his fiance was. The guys begged us to come with them to some party but we politely declined and went on our way, feeling hot. For the next half an hour home, I swear to you about four more cars full of guys either chased us, rolled down their windows and told us to stop, asked where we were going, asked if they could come, etc. Most of it we laughed off and didn't bother with, but one group intrigued me. Three hot Spanish guys in an SUV pulled up and started calling to us like, "Come on, come with us, there's three of us, three of you, it's perfect"...and they really were good looking and had a nice truck...

I felt very happy all night, and I'm still on a high from it all. Today, Dad I went to the Easter service at the Protestant church I went to as a child, which felt very bizarre to me considering I've been going to Catholic church for almost a year now. But it was nice, and I got to compare it to Catholicism because I'd attended the Saturday night service the night before at St. Pauls. After that I came home, had a shower, went to lunch, then had Easter dinner at my Aunt's house where I ate a lot of food. In fact I still feel sickeningly full and it's been almost six hours.

So this hasn't been very exciting, but I did have a good long weekend. I'm going to sleep in a little tomorrow, go to the gym, perhaps go to Ikea, maybe study. For some reason I didn't think about school once this entire weekend, in fact I sort of forgot I was even attending school to begin with and that I have finals in a couple of weeks. I should really start studying for Biology while I have the time...

I complained this morning that the Easter Bunny didn't even come, but Mom pulled out a bunch of bags and said that he came, but this year brought "practical gifts" - so I got a new shampoo and conditioner I wanted, plus a lip balm I had run out of. So I had to run straight to the shower just to use my hair stuff...the littlest things can make me happy.

I can't believe I almost forgot to write about this! Remember Filipino guy from a few entries back? The guy who was showing Osama around who had come in earlier, and him and I had hit it off and he was cute and funny, all that? Apparently he came in the store on Saturday and asked Jess if I was there! I'm trying not to think too much of it, because he could have been asking for Osama's sake, but...maybe he was looking for me himself...this could be a good thing...


<< || >>