Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

the date
March 26, 2002 11:15 p.m.

So, the date was tonight and it actually went pretty well. Not that much can go horribly wrong at a movie where it's about as impersonal as you can get, but I was very happy that things took a more friendly turn, and that he wasn't aggressive towards me at all. In fact I learned that he is actually very smart, he was born in the Middle East but has since lived in the USA, Libya, an island off the coast of Italy, Malaysia, China, and now Canada. He can speak 5 languages, has two degrees, and has had some really cool jobs - like being an Italian translator in Africa. I'm not really attracted to him at all, but I think he would be an interesting friend, provided he stops nagging me. I thought he was leaving soon, but apparently he's going to try to take an English exam here to do some more studying and get a job here - in other words, he's actually sticking around, which worries me a little just because he'll forever know where I work and could stop in at anytime. At least I have all of that stress about the date out of my way, I can return to the never-ending boyfriend search knowing that nothing is going to happen with this guy because there really isn't enough physical attraction...at least not on my end...

My lab final for Biology is tomorrow but I've yet to start really studying. I'm on a huge high right now because I got a phone call today from my Psych prof about my marks for the class I'm doing by independant study. Remember that essay where I had reseach dream theories and analyze a dream of my own? I got 100%. I didn't know colleges ever gave out 100's on essays. When she told me that, I was literally speechless, and remained that way for a good fifteen minutes afterwards. I got 100 on the essay, 100 on my exercises I had to hand in, and 82 on the midterm - which wasn't too bad considering I thought it'd be more like 75 because I didn't study too much. I know I'm going to rock the final too, so there's a chance I'm going to get an A+ in this class. She kept saying how she was so pleased to give me my "incredible grades" and that I deserve a big celebration and stuff...I blabbered out a "th-thank you!" and sat there afterwards staring at the wall not comprehending how I could have possibly been graded 100% on a research paper. I feel so damn smart.

So, this leads to me feeling as if I don't really need to study anymore tonight for Biology...

The movie we ended up going to tonight was Time Machine (or is it called The Time Machine?), and it was surprisingly good - at least I thought so. I found it incredibly interesting, especially the parts about the moon breaking apart and screwing up everything. It really got me thinking, what if one single human experiment somewhere in space altered one single thing that affected the entire universe and caused almost all life on earth to become extinct, like in the movie? Who knows what could happen, right? What if one satellite somewhere released a certain chemical, and that chemical changed the composition of some other chemical on the sun or moon? Anyway, the movie was really cool because previously I'd always thought of "the future" as the year 2100 at the latest - this movie was set for the majority of the time in 80,000. Can you even imagine? 80,000 years of evolution had passed...and I'm not going to ruin the movie anymore, but I would recommend it. It's cheesy at the beginning, but once you get into it, pretty cool...

I've been feeling pretty happy lately, getting lots of sleep and waking up actually wanting to go to school, and feeling awake and ready. It's been nice...being happy and all...




<< || >>