Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

the mysterious osama
March 19, 2002 10:55 p.m.

So Jen finally updated her diary and let me in on how her baby boy is doing! Not that I blame her at all for slacking, she just gave birth 5 weeks ago. I'm so happy that everything is going well and that she's happy. Yay for Diaryland friends.

I'm desperately racking my brain thinking of things to say. I had a brilliant idea of what to write about this morning but now I've completely forgotten.

So on Friday night at work, this guy comes into the store. I ask him if he needs help, he says no at first but keeps looking at me and smiling. He was sort of cute, with brown curly hair and brown eyes, and had a foreign accent, but I couldn't tell what ethnicity he was really. He was pretty white though, if I were to have guessed a nationality I'd have said maybe Czech or Russian or something. Anyway, him and I talked a bit and he told me he had only been in the country for 10 days, so I asked him where he was from, and he said, "Guess". I said, "Europe" and he said nope, and then rattled off some long foreign word. He said, "You probably have no idea where that is, it's Middle East/North Africa". I thought that was very interesting and so we ended up talking for quite a while, about how his family lives here, and how he thought it was boring here so far (I wrote down the clubvibes address for him that lists every club in Vancouver so that he could check them out, because he hadn't even been downtown yet and didn't know clubs existed there). He was very sweet, very polite - left me wondering why men who live here aren't as gentlemanly.

An entire hour passes, and out of nowhere he comes back in the store with his very charming smile and says, "You know, I never got your name". I thought that was pretty gutsy of him, so of course I gave it to him, along with my e-mail address (which also allows him to add me to his MSN list). He told him his name was Osama (uh, yeah) and we laughed about how everyone teases him about it and what a horrible name it is to have now, and I said I could understand. He gave me his e-mail too, and his Yahoo! ID thingy (even though I don't think I have Yahoo! Messenger anymore) and as he left I felt so...giddy. He was just so sweet. It totally proved the theory that personality really does make the person. Normally I would not have found him so cute - I mean, he was alright, not ugly by any means - but just the simple way he talked with me totally turned me on.

He actually came back the next day when I was working with Jess, and it was mildly busy and both of us were with customers. He smiled and said hi to me, and that was about it, but as he left I exclaimed to Jess, "That was my Middle East guy!!", because I'd just finished telling her about him not ten minutes before. Today I logged on to MSN and he had added me and was online, and he called me "sweetie" and it was so...I don't know! I suppose that sometimes the smallest things make me happy.

So I've just been analyzing the situation and thinking about how different this one guy made me feel. Other guys I have crushes on just aren't like him. He was the kind of guy that I could just totally picture loving me to death - the ultra romantic type, who'd always call me baby and be really cuddly. That just described three of my ideal boyfriend qualities (romantic, calls me baby, likes to cuddle). Why is it that men of different cultures (such as European, Spanish, even African or African-American) seem to put women on higher pedastals? You wonder why women go nuts over foreign guys - I think it's the respect. Okay, maybe "respect" isn't the right word but...affection? I admit that I don't mind being treated like a stereotypical woman if a guy is going to really take care of me, you know? I like guys who are romantic, who will take me out and pay for the date, open doors for me, give me girly pet names. I'm not so into the whole "I can pay for myself, we're equal" sort of thing, I admit that I love a guy who wants to take care of me like that. In fact, I'd dare to say that I actually expect men to be like that, and when they're not, I'm no longer as interested. There is something I can sense about a guy right off the bat, and this Osama guy - I could sense it. It was the entire aura of our conversation that seemed so polite, mature, and respectful. What is wrong with the average North American born male? I'm beginning to think I am too princessy for them.

I was just telling Michelle last night that I'm sick of men, but I'm not really sick of men, I am sick of looking for the right one...

I want to go somewhere where men will appreciate me. When I find that place, I'll let you know.




<< || >>