Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

school, hawaii, coffee
March 11, 2002 8:31 p.m.

We just completed an entire section on Nutrition in Biology. I took the midterm for it today and I think I did alright, better than the 54 I got on the last midterm. However, after learning all of this Nutritional Biology I've become totally psychotic. I'm like a paranoid diet queen who can't eat anything without checking the labels for fat and calorie content. Oh, and not just "fat" - I'm looking for monounsaturated, polyunsaturated, trans-fatty acids, the works - and when the label doesn't specify the kinds of fat (which most don't), I spazz. Though I was impressed to see that Becel margarine does break the fats down to the details. I was also relieved to note that my precious Japanese Kyoto mix rice crackers have zero fat and zero cholesterol. Go Japanese crackers.

I'm really trying to eat healthier and it's been a task. Don't get me wrong, I'm not really a crazy diet freak, I'm just becoming more aware of the types of oils used to cook things and stuff like that. Still haven't had any pop since Lent started, so I've been drinking a lot of juice and water and I've been resisting fast food as best I can. I was so hungry coming home from school today that I almost gave in and went through the McDonalds drive-thru. I was even trying to justify in my head why it would be okay to have McDonalds - it's okay Kris, just get the McChicken, no fries or drink, hell get a McChicken without any sauce, it won't be that bad - but the truth is, I knew that as soon as I got near the place my McChicken with no sauce would turn into a Big Mac meal. This is horrible, I'm having cravings for McDonalds - that is a sure sign that I eat it way too often.

I have a presentation for English on Wednesday with this guy who I'm not too fond of. I mean really, I just met him last week when we found out we were in a group together, and it took me about five minutes to establish the fact that he's a dick. I started to get really bitchy with him because he was acting like a total ass, trying to do as little work as possible. I had volunteered not only to do the hardest and longest part of the research and presentation, I had also said I'd type everything out just because he was being so uncooperative. So today, I told him I wouldn't be able to type all of our stuff out because I had two other projects due on Thursday, and he rolled his eyes and mumbled something. I said, "What?" and he said, "Nothing". I said, "No, what did you say?" and he said, "Nothing!". So I went on talking about our presentation, and he looked like he wasn't listening to me at all so I said, "Are you confused about something?" and he gave me this exasperated look and said, "Yeah. I don't get it." So I re-explained everything I was trying to say, and he said, "Fine, fine...you don't need to get all frustrated" or something along those lines. I forget the exact wording, but it was basically, "You don't have to be such a bitch". I felt a little bad after that because I was being bossy, but it was totally necessary! So I ended the day saying I'd see him tomorrow, and I smiled sweetly and walked with him to the cafeteria so he didn't think I was completely evil. Stupid fuck.

I had wanted to road trip to California, but those plans sort of fell through. Then I wanted to go to Montreal really badly, and was about to plan that trip instead until I was invited to go to Hawaii for a week. So, Honolulu it is - I booked my plane ticket today for May 1 - 9. I'm not a huge fan of Oahu, I like Maui quite a bit more but hey - Honolulu with Jess is going to be a blast anyway. I just want sun. Give me an ocean, sand, sun, heat, a good book and Hawaii boys and I will be happy. Thank God I have concrete vacation plans. I have something to look forward to now - Vancouver can be cloudy and rainy until May - I don't care as long as I'm getting out of here.

Thanks to everyone who gave advice for the road trip to California, or even offered a place to stay - Holly! - you guys rule! I'm still LA obsessed and I'm sure I'll make it down to Cali soon enough anyway. Too many places, so little time off from work, not enough money to travel anyway. I'm already scavenging for extra coinage for Hawaii, here - I think I'm going to have to force myself to put away most of my paychecks from now on. You know, so I'll actually have money for food.

I think it's interesting to note that I am now officially addicted to caffiene. I had suspected it for a month or two now, but yesterday I confirmed that it is an honest addiction. If I don't drink coffee by a certain time in the day I get very headachy, very tired, even sick to my stomach. Classic withdrawal symptoms. Everytime I am headachy at school and I can't concentrate or take notes properly, I realize that I haven't had any coffee for 12+ hours. It's quite disturbing.




<< || >>