Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

vive le quebec libre?
February 27, 2002 10:37 p.m.

I just procrastinated for five hours straight before finally attempting to start my essay for History. And of course, part way into it I came on here to write in my diary.

So I've chosen to be a lawyer in Quebec City, 1969, writing a fictional letter to a brother in Manitoba explaining why I've chosen to join a provincial separatist party rather than join Pierre Trudeau into federal politics. That probably means nothing to most of you reading this, considering I'm Canadian myself and I hardly knew anything about the FLQ and Pierre Trudeau until I was forced to research it, but it's actually quite interesting. Interesting enough that I wish I'd taken another history course offered here, all on the subject of Quebec Separatism. I'm already worried about the actual essay itself though. The topic involves creative writing, and that comes easily to me. I'm so involved in the writing of a fictional letter that I'm worried it's sounding too conversational to pass for a history essay. I don't know. Hell, she did ask for a letter, and this is a very realistic sounding letter so...screw it. I'm working with what I have, here.

I'm already accusing my brother of abandoning his native language and not going to mass like he should be in Manitoba, and criticizing those damn bastards who implemented the Schools Act (which secularized and anglicized schools). It feels so much more natural for me to write in first person, so I'm going wild with this. A+ for creativity and writing skills, C for historical evidence...

Speaking of grades, I've been getting some better grades back lately so that has lifted my spirits. I got a B+ on my Psych essay, an A on the midterm (93%! I rock), an A- on my history midterm, and I got a B- on the in-class essay for English last week, which was a gradual step up from that C+ I was pissed off about. So things are looking up there. Oh, I also got a letter back from UBC saying they got my application and they're just waiting for my past university grades. So that puts me at ease, knowing I didn't fuck up anything too badly with the internet application process.

I don't have a whole lot to talk about besides school, so now that I've bored every one of you I'll get back to pretending I'm a bitter Quebecois.




<< || >>