Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

writing contest
February 7, 2002 4:53 p.m.

I ended up dragging my ass to school and I'm so glad I did, because I recieved my Latin-American art history mark back and I got an A, but even more exciting and wonderful is what I learned in English. There is a magazine Langara takes part in called West49, and as of today they've started recieving submissions for a writing contest. You can submit poetry and prose, fiction or non-fiction. There are only three winners that are awarded a little bit of money, but a bunch of good submissions will be published in West49.

I really, really want to enter that writing contest, but not to "win" and get a hundred bucks - I desperately want to be published. And I don't think it's impossible. When I get really passionate about something I can write half-decent stories, right?

After this weekend, when I'm done all of my assignments that are pressing for the moment, I'm going to start writing like crazy again. I'll write some new stuff, and scrounge up any story I've written in the past and see if it's worthy of submitting. If I'm going to send in a short story I can only choose one, so it has to be a good one. I can easily edit one I've already written. The last day they'll accept work is March 1 so I don't have a ton of time.

I'm trying not to get my hopes up too much, because I know there are so many good writers at my school, and I suspect that it's probably mandatory for the Creative Writing classes to take part in it, too. If I am organized enough maybe I can link my top 5 selections on to my diary for people to read and pick which one is the best. Or if anyone has any suggestions about topics, e-mail me or let me know in my guestbook.

Life is full of irony. Just when I was saying I was lacking creativity and motivation in a big way, I hear about this contest and I feel like taking on the world. I'm so desperate for other people to read something I've written, and I feel like some kind of light is shining down on me, as if this oppertunity was created just for me. I know it's only West49, but it's a start. It's an experience if anything. I have never participated in a writing contest before.

I really, really want to do this.




<< || >>