Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

work and boys
February 5, 2002 9:11 p.m.

I was dreading today because of the staff meeting we'd called, but it actually went really well. It took an entire two hours of much discussion, but I think we all left feeling pretty satisfied. I got a 50 cent raise which doesn't seem like much, but when you're making $8.75/h, 50 cents more is like whoo hoo! Plus on top of that our general manager made it active January 1, so we'll be paid the extra money that we would have got from January 1 until now as if we'd had our raise then. That was pretty damn nice of him, so I couldn't be too big of a bitch after that. We were all thrown a little off guard because we'd had this whole speech ready to counter-argue why we deserve a raise and bla bla bla, and it turned out that half of our speech wasn't even needed.

The only thing I'm still a little iffy about are the issues with our manager in the store. I feel better about it now that I told her straight to her face that I feel like she doesn't trust me, so I guess that honesty really is the best policy. But then she went on this tirade about how we need to get over it and that she can't help that she has the job she has and that our availability didn't allow for us to take that job (which I would have in a second if I wasn't in school all day). I understood what she meant, I'm just too damn proud. Basically, I'm a bitch who can't stand working under a so-called "manager" who tells me what to do when I have been working there a year longer than she has, and I know how to do her job better than she does. I think she feels that I resent her for taking what I thought would be my job this summer, and I admit I sort of do. But at least it's out in the open now, and I feel a lot more comfortable with her. Overall it went really well, and we didn't have to revolt entirely.

I'm sure that was really boring to everyone who doesn't care about my job, but...that was probably the highlight of my day. So I won't quit. Work problems have been pretty much resolved. As long as I stop hating Lori for telling me what to do, I'll be fine.

I have nothing really great to say today, and I'm going to really try to get a little bit of my work done before bed tonight.

I figure I have two prospective boyfriends right now, and I don't know either of them very well. Actually, I don't know one of them at all really, but a) He works with my best friend now, so that is a big advantage to me, b) He's Spanish, c) He's Catholic and goes to the same church as me. I don't really like his hair, but...okay, I'm trying not to be picky. The other is a guy I think I've mentioned before, Dustin, who was in my Bio class last semester and is SO my type. His body type and face and every single thing about him is exactly the kind of guy I am so attracted to. I see him in school still, and everytime I see him, it's like...at the risk of this sounding really corny, my knees get weak and I have this mini-fantasy of running into his arms. He has the sort of chest and arms that look like they'd feel so strong and warm and...mmmmm. Now I really want him. Anyway I saw him today in the basement of the library, he was sitting down the isle from me at one of the cubicles and we caught each others eye and he mouthed "Hi" to me and I mouthed "Hi" back, and I think I could have died right then. I want that boy so badly but I'm scared to go up and talk to him when I see him around. Carmen told me he's a soccer player for Langara, so maybe I'll go watch one of his games...

I keep thinking about the little things he'd do in class last semester and I wonder if maybe he sort of liked me, or at least thought I was pretty. He usually sat right in front of me and would always lean back to stretch and would look back at me and smile, or he'd turn half way around to take notes and put one of his arms on my desk. One time we were talking about working out, and him and Mike were being all macho and bragging about how much they could bench, and I was making fun of them for bragging about it. Somehow it got turned around to me going to the gym, and he made some sort of suggestive comment about how if I asked for a personal training session the guy would just stare at my ass the whole time (I was really, really happy that day by the way). I feel like such an idiot for not talking to him more, he probably thought I was blowing him off. I think I was just so shocked that I found someone who had every physical feature that I love in a guy, plus he was smart. It was too good to be true, I just assumed he must have a girlfriend. Crap.

I even like his name...Dustin...

So I'll just pine away for him and not do a damn thing about it, besides watch him talk to his friends as I walk by, and then grab Carmen's arm and squeal, That was my guy! That was my guy!


<< || >>