Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

school, grandma, alanis
January 29, 2002 4:22 p.m.

I feel anxious because the Latin-American art history test was hard. We were shown two images on the projector in the dark for six minutes, and then had maybe 5 or 6 more minutes to answer really specific contrast/comparison questions. I was half way through one question when she shut off all the lights again to show two totally different murals that corresponded to the second question. Six minutes to look at pictures, six minutes to write like crazy and make it sound intelligible. It was very stressful. I'd look at the ones on the screen, and then continue writing on the past question when I was supposed to be doing the second one, etcetera. I think I sucked on the first one, mainly because I took too long to start writing, and one of the murals was the one single piece of art that neither Carmen nor I understood and were praying wouldn't be on the test. I could see her glance over at me when she shut off the lights, and we both mouthed Shit.

English on the other hand, I bs'd my way through and ended up at least guessing every author/title correctly. What are the chances of that? I even guessed Jonathan Swift "Gulliver's Travels" right, when I haven't read a word of it yet and didn't have a clue what the excerpt meant. I made up something about the passage showing Gulliver's gullibility and ignorance and how Swift was satirizing the British people of his day. I still can't believe I guessed right. It's not an easy task to "guess right" when you're given random 5-line passages from 18th century literature. Go Krista.

I've been really busy lately and having difficulty with time management. I have a lot of homework and essays that are due in the next week, plus I'm so excited about starting up this new Diaryland site. But school must come first. I really need good grades to guarantee that I can go to university again, so I have to manage my time wisely before I end up writing three essays at once until 5 in the morning. I'm trying to get ahead of the game by as much as I can.

So much to think about. My Grandma is still in the hospital and I've been pushing that out of my mind for the last couple months. She's still pretty young, and she's had such a healthy life, doesn't smoke, drink, she's not overweight. She's my favourite Grandma and...she just can't die. She's not allowed. I want my children to know her. So either I have babies right now, or she gets better already. She doesn't want us coming to visit her, which is so typical. Doesn't want to inconvenience anyone because she's out at Vancouver General, and it's snowing, and parking is bad, blah blah blah. It still hasn't hit me that my Grandma is actually sick. To me she is invincible, she's always so strong...I can't imagine her not feeling well. Don't want to think about it.

I have to do something productive with my time now. History homework, Psych homework, and start girlspace (the new name of our girl site. Like it?).

I'm in love with the new Alanis Morissette song, the lyrics are so great. I haven't stopped singing it since Saturday.

We'll fast forward to a few years later - no one knows except the both of us - and I have honoured your request for silence, and you've washed your hands clean of this...

Speaking of honouring his request for silence - I have this need to send Cody a little e-mail on Valentine's Day. Just to say hey, and that I miss him. I know it's a bad idea, but I can't get it out of my head. Does that count as "talking" to him?




<< || >>