Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

shades of gray
November 18, 2001 9:16 p.m.

I feel as if I've been going through the motions of life today with a veil of grayness over my eyes. I am unable to see the beauty and goodness around me.

I played a soccer game at 10 in the morning. I know that doesn't sound all that early, but it was in Maple Ridge, and from where I live in the Vancouver area, that is an hour and a half drive to be there half an hour early for warm-up. The temperature this morning was 2 degrees celcius, and a thick frost covered the ground. We played our game on a secluded field, surrounded by frosty evergreens, and watched the sun rise above them and turn the clouds orange-ish colours. I saw it all, but I didn't really see it.

The church tonight was covered in hundreds of flowers, and I sang my heart out, and for the first time actually participated in every one of the Catholic "things" I had never done before. The genuflecting, making the sign of the cross, and all the rest. I always knew what to do, but didn't feel as if it was right to do them yet. But tonight I did. After church, I usually feel elated, and want to go out with my friends, but tonight I didn't. I don't know why. It's not that church didn't feel good, it did. I'm a sullen girl today. We did end up going out for a couple drinks after, but I barely said more than ten words.

And I must be looking pretty lately. I went to church before Danny, Anna and Michelle got there, so I could sit for a few minutes and pray, because my Grandmother is in the hospital. Three guys turned their heads as I walked by them. Once Michelle got there, she told me that our friend Dan's friend, who was a Kappa Sigma boy at that party on Friday, told him that I was "super cute". And afterwards at the restaurant tonight, our waiter bought my drink for me. I wasn't even listening to him when he told me not to worry about it. I think I just stared blankly at him for a second and then mumbled an "oh...thanks". Anna said, "Go, Krista...you're on fire today!", and I said, "If I were in a better mood, I'd care". Under ten words. Good things are happening to me, and I see them, but I can't appreciate.

I've been listening to the Michelle Branch CD on repeat. My favourite song is "If Only She Knew". I think it is the story of my life. Listen to that song, and tell me that isn't the story of my life.




<< || >>