Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

english tutor moi
November 7, 2001 9:49 p.m.

In the last 8 hours I have been beckoned by both Cody and Jamil to interpret poems they have to present tomorrow in school, because I am obviously the Queen of English. Cody's was very interesting, with a lot of biblical allusion (illusion? I hate that), about leaving the living world to be an observer, to look down on humans and not feel the pain or suffering, to be born as "the third sex", not male nor female, just an outside presence. Jamil's was different, about a woman standing by a frozen river and describing how a friend could ask her what everything in her life has meant to her, what mistakes she has made, if anything has mattered, and that her reponse would be like the river - which I intelligently guessed would be a response of nothing, because the river is frozen. I made this wonderful interpretation about how the river still has current and movement underneath the ice, and that she is saying she has feelings and thoughts and opinions, but a frozen exterior.

Ex-boy uses me to help him with literature analysis. But you know what? If he's talking to me in any way, shape or form, it's a good thing.

I've been having a really big attitude problem this week. I walk around thinking, damn I look good. I guess it is a nice change.

If you're into Christian music, listen to the song "Shout to the Lord" off of the WOW Worship CD. Even if you don't listen to Christian music, just listen to this song anyway. If you don't find it to be the prettiest, most awe-inspiring song, you can tell me so here. I've been singing it all day. Family thinks I have gone crazy.

I suppose most people would think that if they saw a girl in her pajamas at 7 a.m., hair everywhere, toasting an english muffin while singing at the top of her lungs about Jesus. Dad just looked up at me and tried to contain his laughter by looking back down at his newspaper and raising his eyebrows...so I then proceeded to grab his shirt and belt out,

I sing for joy, at the work of your hand...

and the rest. Brother yelled from upstairs to "shut the fuck up". Mom asked what was wrong with me. I live in such a God-less household.

Did I ever mention how much I love to sing?




<< || >>