Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

great expectations
September 04, 2001 7:20 p.m.

I'm still alive! This will probably be boring to most people but, I feel a need to describe the days events, so bare with me!

I got out of bed this morning around 6:50am, which was a feat in itself, and Breanne picked me up around quarter to 8. Traffic was really busy this morning at that time so we applied a little aggressive driving to the situation (a few illegalities, but what can you do). We got there with 5 minutes to spare and booked it to our first classes while Bre kept saying "I don't waannna go to school...". She looked like she was going to throw up when I left her, but there wasn't much I could do about it and I think she got over it anyway.

So my first class was Psychology (which I have never taken before) and I had no idea what to expect. I didn't recognize anyone in the class which wasn't necessarily a bad thing because it was 8:30 in the morning anyway and I'm sure I still looked half asleep. I think I will enjoy that class a lot; the teacher seemed really cool. Easy to understand and he had a sense of humour. So I left that class with a good feeling about the rest of the day ahead of me.

So I begin walking to my next class (which is in the other building), and I'm looking for Carmen amidst masses of people and I hear, "Krista! Krista Cody's girlfriend!".

So that was cringe-worhty enough to stop me dead in my tracks and think, Oh great. It turned out to be this guy Lewis that Cody used to run track with, who I've met like once or twice in my life, so I am amazed he actually remembered my name (although I suppose I did remember his as well). It was his first day ever at Langara, so I took his schedule to show him where his classes were and, what do you know, we have the next class together. And I didn't bother mentioning I'm not "Cody's girlfriend" anymore, because...I don't know, I'll pretend at any chance I get.

On a side note I'd just like to say that perhaps one nice thing about not being "Cody's girlfriend" anymore is just that - I'm no longer referred to and solely known as "Cody's girlfriend". It was nice to be the girlfriend of a well-known and well-liked guy in high school, but this was my life: What's your name? Krista? Oh, you're Cody's girlfriend! - Hey, you're going out with Cody, right? - Krista? Krista who? Oh Krista, Cody's girl! - Person #1: Hey so-and-so, this is Krista, Person #2: Oh...hey....(lack of interest), Person #1: Yeah, she's with Cody, Person #2: OH! Really?! (wow! I am the coolest person on earth!)

Anyway. So Lewis and I went to our next class (which was Psych again, the other half of it). I swear to God it nearly took the cake for Most Boring Class Ever. Philosophy at SFU still holds first place, but my God, this class was right at its heels. I'm thinking I may drop it tonight, after I finish writing this. It's not that the course material is that bad, it's the teacher. I could hardly hear a word he said the entire hour. He mumbled and repeated the same 5 things about 10 times. I actually started doodling on my paper, which is a sure sign I am really, honestly bored. I never, ever doodle on papers because I'm such a perfectionist I don't like my notes to have ugly scribbly things in the margins. Really.

Lewis also had his break at the same time I did, so we parted on our ways and I told him I'd meet him back there so we could hang out on our break. The next class I had was English Lit (up until Shakespeare), and the teacher was absolutely amazing. He was brilliant and hilarious. I overheard a couple girls in my class say before class started that half the people in there were just "followers" of him - they register for his classes no matter what he is teaching, just to have him as a teacher. No wonder it filled up so fast and I got in by chance (and all the while wondered why the other section of the course still had like, 20 seats left). So I am really excited about that, plus two girls I play soccer with happened to be in it as well, AND a very cute guy sat beside me and his name is Dustin.

I had an hour break after English, and I really didn't feel like hanging out with Lewis so I didn't bother waiting around for him for very long. I did meet Breanne in the ladies room though, and she gave me Jessica's copy of Glamour to read on my break, since I really had nothing else to do. So I bought my Hazelnut Latte from the little Starbucks and went to the Student Union Building to read about how to make good sex into great sex. The SUB has new (and more) couches this year, which I am very grateful for.

My next class was Biology which was the class I was really nervous about. On my way up to the third floor of the A building I ran into Matt, so we chatted for a few minutes. I took a look at his schedule, and his next class was Cooking which caused me to laugh out loud. I don't know why he'd take Home Ec, and I don't think he knows either but I suspect he thought he'd meet more girls because that's really the only explanation I can come up with for Matt cooking, of all things.

Biology turned out to be fine. The teacher seems really nice and the material was what I learned in the tenth grade so I'm not worried about it yet. It's a Bio class specifically for "non-science majors"; it only counts for Art majors who need to fulfill their science requirements at UBC so it's geared towards my lack of scientific vocabulary and I appreciate that very much.

After Bio came Canadian History. I have to take it because it's required for my BEd so I don't really have a choice. It seems okay, as "okay" as Canadian History can get. I found out I still have to buy another $70 text book for it, so my grand scheme of spending less than $400 on books was out the window right then and there. The wonderfully gorgeous and charming Chris Ghinny is in my class so if I ever get bored I can just look at him and I think that'll be satisfying enough.

I think that was enough rambling about school.

This evening I got a letter from Sarah. She's moved to Lethbridge, Alberta (going to U of Lethbridge) with Nigel. I am so, so happy she wrote me, because I miss her tons. I just hope everything works out with them living together. God knows living with Cody lasted all of, oh, a week.

I also recently found out that Jen had an ultrasound and amniocentesis done in the last couple weeks and her baby is 100% healthy and it's a boy, which put a huge smile on my face.

So that was my day, in a nutshell.




<< || >>