Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

waste of time
July 9, 2001 12:22 p.m.

Today, I miss school.

July 9, 1877, the very first Wimbledon tournament was held. On this day in 1941, the Enigma code was broken by the British, enabling the Allies to detect German codes on the Eastern Front. In 1947, a female was honoured as an army officer, making her the first female to hold a permanent military position. In 1993, the Romanov remains were identified with inconclusive evidence regarding Anastasia's remains.

It is beautiful outside today, so I shall lay in the sun and read my book, while the world turns around me, civil wars continue, villages are ransacked in the name of peace-keeping and my brother embarks on another part of the world, another time zone, another hemisphere.

Today I could feel as if I were wasting away my youth yet again, or I could feel as if I have all the time in the world to observe my surroundings. Large green trees sprinkled with millions of cherries on its boughs, sweet pea flowers in pastel shades, sun beating down on our old wooden porch that my dad made when we first moved into this sheltered neighbourhood.

When I am out of this house, I will not be able to hear the wind without also hearing the distant ring of door chimes.




<< || >>