Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

one more pill left...
June 26, 2001 1:34 p.m.

It's frightening to know that something so powerful and so real can take over your entire being for months and months. It can shield your soul from the world; cast a shadow over all light that may shine your way. It can suck every living thing out of you until you feel like you're this massive void in the universe. Everything you see is a shade of gray and everything you hear is a mumbled mess of undistinguishable voices. This force has some much raw energy that it can stop you in your tracks, make you walk in circles, make the most undevout scream to high heaven for mercy. I think it knows how afraid of it we all are. It preys on the innocent, the ones who know that it's coming, the ones who pray at night that they'll not fall under its wrath. If it feeds off you once, you may battle it for the rest of your life, because it never seems to lose its momentum. Us, we may lose our momentum, we may give up in the long run. I never want to give up, but I'm scared of what the future holds.

My last pill will be taken tonight. After that I will be medication-free and I will be in the world alone for the first time in almost a year. Without drugs to keep my brain numb, without the comfort of a prescription bottle at my bedside to sooth my nightmarish fears. I try not to think of what will happen to the person I have become on drugs. Will I change? Will I be exactly the same? Is this person I am now a complete figment of medication? I had just become comfortable in this new skin. I had been so lost at the beginning, so utterly frightened of the new person I was, but now I have found refuge in my new self. I am not ready to be thrown back into the chaos and expected to find myself again.

I truly think that friendship is the most essential element to living. The connections I have made with people in the last year have become inescapable. The bonds will last forever, and are so pure that it is almost indescribable. I am forever in debt to people who helped pull me through times I thought I wouldn't and couldn't live through.

I'm so dizzy right now that I feel as if I'm flying through space. If I close my eyes I see flashes of every colour of the rainbow swirling in front of my eyes. I could be anywhere I want to be right now. I feel as if I've gone off the medicine already but I haven't yet...I wonder why I am so light-headed? Everything is slow motion today. I don't think I've spoken more than 5 words today. All I can hear is the soft click of the keyboard, the occasional chirp of the birds outside, and the sound of the breeze blowing the leaves on the trees. I think I could listen to wind forever. When I was a child I thought the wind was like magic, because you could hear it, you could feel it, but you could never, ever see it.




<< || >>