Navigation
newest
archives
about me
rings
guestbook
Credit
image
charm designs
diaryland

goth rant
2001-04-24 12:11 p.m.

Krista's Rant of the Day

From www.razzberry.com, under "Freak Fashionable":

"Last week my friend brought a YM magazine into class and I was looking through it and they had tips for punk makeup, punk fashion, goth makeup,and rave clothes. We "freaks" have usually been taunted for our different sense of style. And now, here is this spewer of all things preppie and pop, suggesting our fashion. Another example of this copying I experienced was when one of the self-proclaimed "preps" wore a spiked collar. I got so mad @ this that I wrote this whole poem about it. It seemed so odd to me that someone who was wearing ambercrombie from head to toe wore a spiked collar ( it's not better than mine). I couldn't control how mad I was. At my friend's school the teenyboppers there have copied her and all got short black trenchcoats. How do you other "freaks" feel about the people usually following the "trends" wearing stuff that we usually get made fun of for, and are "cool" because of it?"

Give me a fucking break.

Anyone who claims to be "goth" or "punk" and sees this as some sort of act of individuality needs to wake up. Are you stupid? You think being "goth" is all about the belief, and not the style? You think "goth" is not a trend? You need a serious reality check.

Nobody "owns" a certain style of clothing. Contrary to popular belief, YOU did not create this style. Yes, I said STYLE because being goth is NOT just a way of thinking, it has become a way of LOOKING as well. And this didn't just happen yesterday.

From what I read into you, you are just another one of those goths who really has no idea what it means to truly be "goth" in the sense of the word. Get a fucking clue. Wow, and I thought we were all about NOT categorizing people? Who's to say that a "self-proclaimed prep" is not allowed to wear a dog collar? Who are YOU, Miss High and Mighty Goth, to tell ME what I can and cannot wear? Where does it say that if I usually wear clothes from the Gap, I am not allowed to shop at another store? Oh yes my dear, STORES carry GOTH CLOTHING, and where did you buy your dog collar? Le Chateau? Some store downtown decked in black and red that sells hair dye, anti-capitalist baby-T's and assorted piercing devices, aimed precisely at teens who are trying SO very hard to be goth? While they rake in their capitalist earnings from people just like you who think they're being such an individual for listening to punk music and wearing a black trenchcoat?

GOTH IS A TREND, AND YOU FOLLOWED IT. You are not the only one who listens to the type of music you do, and you are by FAR not the only person who wears a dog collar and calls themself a "goth". Why don't you start by doing this: DITCH THE LABELS. I'm sick of people like you, thinking they are so much better than anyone who *gasp* wears ambercrombie.

I find it so fucking ironic that people like you who put down everything they find to be superficial and materialistic come to this site to bitch about others COPYING YOUR CLOTHING. I don't think I could ever be as big of a materialist as you are, even if I tried.

Jetgirly wrote:

"There is ABSOLUTELY nothing freaky, unusual, cutting-edge or experimental about wearing goth or raver clothes. Every day, thousands of kids across North America walk the halls of their schools wearing similar clothing. You eat lunch with people who wear these clothes. They are your friends, your acquaintances, a HUGE group of individuals following one trend like little sheep. Just because it isn't Abercrombie doesn't mean it's not another mindless trend. In being different, goths, punks, skaters, ravers and tons of other sub-cultures have become as mainstream as Britney Spears.

As well, you probably overestimate the amount of time and effort other people spend thinking and talking about you and your style. Most people don't give a damn about what strangers are wearing, and they're not likely to waste their time talking about it, much less making fun of it! If one person made fun of your clothing, don't stereotype their whole group of friends (or the whole group that dresses like them) by saying they make fun of you. Because they've got better things to do."

Amen, sister.




<< || >>